Nine Named to NEWMAC Football Academic All-Conference Team

Nine Named to NEWMAC Football Academic All-Conference Team

NEW LONDON, Conn. – Coast Guard placed nine cadet-athletes on the inaugural New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Football Academic All-conference team.

The sophomore class led the way with four players named to the team with Austin Haynia (Mechanical Engineering), Miguel Moroles (Civil Engineering), Liam Mulvey (Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering) along with Mark Wicke (Mechanical Engineering) all being honored.

Three seniors, who are all Mechanical Engineering majors, Vince DeTerlizzi, Ryan Robertson and Logan Sullivan were named to the team. All three were members of the New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Academic team in 2015 and 2016.

Juniors Titus Creamer (Civil Engineering) and Sam Lowe (Operations Research and Computer Analysis) were named to the team after earning the same honors in the NEFC last season.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. The Catholic University of America, Maine Maritime Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and Norwich University are associate members in the sport of football.