17 Rowers Named to NIRC All-Academic team

17 Rowers Named to NIRC All-Academic team

NEW LONDON, Conn. – The Coast Guard Academy placed 17 rowers on the National Invitational Rowing Championship (NIRC) Stewards All-Academic Team today announced by the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC). A total of 355 student-athletes from 27 institutions earned the distinction for the 2013-2014 academic year.

The men's team had 11 rowers named to the team. Seniors Cole Gingrich and Jake Taylor along  with juniors Luke Carani, Peter Driscoll, Alexander Kloo and Sean Murphy as well as sophomores John Keiffer, Ross Markham and Tharindu Wathuthanthri rounded out the Coast Guard men's selections.

Seniors Cathy Durand and Judy Hooymans were two of six honored from the women's team as they were joined by juniors Elyse Bobczynski, Brynna Cooke and Caitlyn Gever as well as sophomore Emily Quallen.

To receive All-Academic honors, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

Also, a total of 42 student-athletes were chosen as members of the All-ECAC NIRC teams from 27 institutions as ccoaches from each member institution selected a deserving member from their respective crews to be honored.

Carani was selected from the men's team while Hooymans was the recipient from the women's team for the Bears.