Bears Place Nine on ECAC/NIRC All-Academic Team

Sean Murphy
Sean Murphy

DANBURY, Conn. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced that nine Coast Guard Academy cadet-athletes were named to the National Invitational Rowing Championship (NIRC) Stewards All-Academic Team.

A total of 321 student-athletes from 24 institutions earned the distinction for the 2014-2015 academic year.

The men's rowing team had six athletes named while the women's team had a trio earn the honor.

Senior Luke Carini, Peter Driscoll, Alexander Kloo and Sean Murphy along with juniors John Keiffer and Ross Markham were named from the men's team while senior Brynna Cooke and sophomores Laura Beck and Megan Sackett were named from the Coast Guard women's team.

To receive All-Academic honors, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.