Iorio, Geurtsen, and Wyler Lead Bears to Victory Over McDaniel

Benner Geurtsen
Benner Geurtsen

WESTMINSTER, Md.-- Sophomore Will Iorio and seniors Benner Geurtsen and Anthony Wyler each scored a hat trick for Coast Guard men's lacrosse, who is ranked #20 by the Nike/US Lacrosse Magazine, in a 14-10 victory over McDaniel on Saturday afternoon. The Bears improve to 2-1 on the season, while McDaniel falls to 1-3.

Along with the trio of hat tricks, sophomore Matty Johnson added two goals and seniors Ian Logan and Cole Hudson, junior Riley McNulty, and sophomore Ryan McNary all added a goal in the Bears victory.

Pat Fegan scored a hatrick and added three assists for McDaniel. Jackson Reilly added two more goals, while five others added a goal each for the Green Terror.

Wyler put the Bears on the board first at 12:46 as he connected on a pass from Iorio to take the 1-0 lead. Iorio scored his hat trick all in the first quarter as the Bears shut down McDaniel for a 7-0 opening quarter.

Johnson scored the first goal of the second quarter as the Bears held an 8-0 advantage. At 8:51 in the second, Jared Payne gave McDaniel their first goal to trail, 8-1.Wyler, Logan, and Hudson scored the next three goals for the Bears as they extended their lead 11-1. Fegan finished the half with a goal for McDaniel with 25 seconds remaining to cut the deficit to 11-2.

McDaniel used a strong second half as they inched their way back, outscoring the Bears 2-1 in the third quarter. They also scored the opening five goals of the fourth quarter as to trail 12-9 with just over nine minutes remaining in the game. Geurtsen scored the final two goals for Coast Guard to secure the 14-10 victory over McDaniel.

Senior goalie Trey Johnson improves to 2-1 on the season as he made four saves in the victory. Jakob Katzen made eight saves for McDaniel in the loss and drops to 1-2 on the season.

The Bears outshot McDaniel, 48-33 and the teams were equal with face-offs won, 14-28.

Coast Guard is back in action on Wednesday, March 6 at 6:00 PM when they travel to the defending Division III National Champion, #1 Wesleyan.