Five Named to NEWMAC All-Academic team

NEW LONDON, Conn.--(2/27/12)--The Coast Guard Academy placed five cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Swimming and Diving All-Academic team.

Senior Jeff Mistrick (Mechanical Engineering) and junior Nick Poehler (Mechanical Engineering) earned All-Academic honors for the second time in their careers.

Junior Michael Piantedosi (Management) and sophomores Marc McAndrew (Electrical Engineering) and Eric Bonomi (Naval Architecture/Marine Engineering) were named to the team for the first time.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2011 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.