Four named All-Academic in Men’s Swimming & Diving

NEW LONDON, Conn. – The Coast Guard Academy placed four cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Swimming and Diving All-Academic team.

Senior Nick Poehler (Mechanical Engineering) earned All-Academic honors for the third time in his career. Joining him as a repeat honoree were senior Michael Piantedosi (Management) and junior Marc McAndrew (Electrical Engineering) were each named to the team for the second time.

Earning recognition for the first time was sophomore Tyler Kotchman (Mechanical Engineering).

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2012 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.