Bears Place 2nd at NEWMAC Championship

Patrick Jackson
Patrick Jackson

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Freshman Eric Fuhs broke the school record and won the 200 breaststroke championship and was named NEWMAC Rookie of the Year on the fourth and final day of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship as Coast Guard placed second for the second consecutive season.

MIT won for the 10th straight time with 1,555 points while Coast Guard finished with 1,134.5 points to beat out third place WPI (983), while Wheaton (577.5), Springfield (476), Babson (456) and Clark (260) rounded out the team scores. Coast Guard finished third at the NEWMAC Championships for four straight season prior to last year.

Fuhs, who won the 100 breaststroke NEWMAC championship on Saturday night, won the championship in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:01.42. He broke the school record in the morning preliminaries with a time of 2:00.88.

Sophomore Joe Rodriguez earned All-conference honors with a second place finish in the 100 freestyle by posting a time of 45.41.

Junior Taylor Rowe, who has earned honorable mention All-America honors in the 1,650 freestyle and in each of the last two seasons and is the defending NEWMAC champion in the event, placed second with a time of 15:47.88 to earn All-conference honors.

The Bears 400 freestyle relay of freshman John Feller, sophomore Joe Rodriguez, sophomore John Pompay and junior Patrick Jackson broke the school record with a time of 3:03.92.

Jackson, who accounted for three school records on Saturday, tied the school record with time of 1:51.07 to place seventh in the 200 backstroke. The record has stood since 1995 when All-American Bob Hueller set the mark.

Senior Ross Garrett placed fourth in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:54.64 while sophomore Owen Gibson was sixth (1:55.81).


Bears Fall to #4 MIT
January 13, 2018 Bears Fall to #4 MIT
Bears Beat Babson 152-72
January 11, 2018 Bears Beat Babson 152-72
Bears Capture CT Cup
December 2, 2017 Bears Capture CT Cup