Bears Place Four Runners on NEWMAC All-Academic Team

NEW LONDON, CONN.--The Coast Guard Academy placed four cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team.

Sophomores Pat Dreiss (Civil Engineering), Stephen Horvath (Mechanical Engineering), Ryan Hub (Electrical Engineering), and Joe O'Connell (Mechanical Engineering) have all been named to the team from Coast Guard in their first year of All-Academic eligibility.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2012 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.