Eleven Named to NEWMAC All-Academic teams

Eleven Named to NEWMAC All-Academic teams

NEW LONDON, Conn.-The Coast Guard Academy placed 11 cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference All-Academic Team, spanning across four sports.

The women's rowing team led the way with five selections while baseball saw three players selected, softball had two, and tennis had one.

Crew seniors Cathy Durand (Marine and Environmental Sciences) and Judy Hooymans (Electrical Engineering) were each selected in their third consecutive - and final - season of eligibility. Juniors Elyse Bobczynski (Marine and Environmental Sciences) and Caitlyn Gever (Operations Research and Computer Analysis) along with sophomore Emily Quallen (Marine and Environmental Sciences) were each named to the team for the first time.

Senior Dave Wolinski (Government), making his third straight appearance on the team and juniors Andrew Lucak (Management) and Louis Simione (Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering) were each selected for the second time in the respective careers.

From the softball team, senior Kelly Grills (Management) was named to the team for the third straight time while sophomore Tara Larkin (Mechanical Engineering) was a first time honoree.

Sophomore Townshend Hirst (Operations Research and Computer Analysis), from the tennis team, was also a first-time selection.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2013 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his/her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.