Meuse Named NEWMAC Coach of the Year

Meuse Named NEWMAC Coach of the Year

WELLESLEY, MASS.--(4/25/12)--The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference announced its Women's Rowing post-season award winners on Wednesday. Coast Guard head coach Jen Meuse was named the NEWMAC Coach of the Year while Smith College earned the Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by the conference's student-athletes.

Meuse's Coast Guard squad finished as the runner-up to conference champion, Wellesley College, in the Varsity 8 race at Saturday's championship regatta.

In addition to the two awards announced on Wednesday, the NEWMAC All-Conference teams were revealed at an awards ceremony following Saturday's championship races.

The varsity All-Conference selections were: Genevieve DeAngelis (Malden, Mass.) and Katy Nowoswiat (Lowell, Mass.) of Clark University; Holly Madden (Shrinking Spring, Pa.) and Sarah Jane Otey (Littleton, Colo.) of Coast Guard; Carol Still (Fort Myers, Fla.) and Hattie Gemerchak (Shaker Heights, Ohio) of Mount Holyoke; Simone D'Abreu (Bellrose, N.Y.) and Lorna Pyle (San Rafael, Calif.) of Smith; Jessica Frey (Andover, Mass.) and Patty Suquilanda (Greenwich, Conn.) of Wellesley; and Brooke Cotta (Bristol, R.I.) and Suzanna Kelley (Attleboro, Mass.) of WPI.

The novice selections included Katie Baldyga (Unionville, Conn.) of Clark; Brynna Cooke (Salem, Conn.) of Coast Guard; Samantha Marsden (Eugene, Ore.) of Mount Holyoke; Caroline Finn (Woodbridge, Va.) of Smith; Loren Lock (Fond Du Lac, Wis.) of Wellesley and Corre Steele (Stow, Mass.) of WPI.

2012 NEWMAC Women's Rowing Awards

Coach of the Year
Jen Meuse, Coast Guard

Sportsmanship Award
Smith College

Varsity All-Conference Team
Genevieve DeAngelis, Clark
Katy Nowoswiat, Clark
Holly Madden, Coast Guard
Sarah Jane Otey, Coast Guard
Carol Still, Mount Holyoke
Hattie Gemerchak, Mount Holyoke
Simone D'Abreu, Smith
Lorna Pyle, Smith
Jessica Frey, Wellesley
Patty Suquilanda, Wellesley
Brooke Cotta, WPI
Suzanna Kelley, WPI

Novice All-Conference Team
Katie Baldyga, Clark
Brynna Cooke, Coast Guard
Samantha Marsden, Mount Holyoke
Caroline Finn, Smith
Loren Lock, Wellesley
Corre Steele, WPI