Detwiler, Bratland, Foley Win NEWA Major Awards

Detwiler, Bratland, Foley Win NEWA Major Awards

NEW LONDON, Conn. – Freshman Paul Detwiler has been named the New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Rookie of the Year while Kevin Bratland was named Coach of the Year and Dylan Foley earned assistant coach of the year honors to highlight the end of the year awards.

All-American AJ Aeberli (174) and NCAA qualifier Patrick Irwin (Hwt) were named to All-NEWA first team while NCAA qualifier Nick Remke (165), Detwiler (184) and NCAA qualifier Jon Wagner (197) were named to the second team.

Kenji Beato (133), JD Fitpatrick (141) and Christian Gosch (157) earned honorable mention honors while Beato, Phil Rogers (174) and Detwiler were named to the All-Rookie team.

Detwiler, an NCAA qualifier was 21-7 on the season. He placed fourth at the All-Academy Championships and was named the Outstanding Wrestler at the NEWA Dual Championships this season. He placed third at the NCAA Northeast Regional Championship.

Bratland, in his fifth season as head coach at the Coast Guard Academy, led the Bears to a 9-3 dual meet record and the team finished ranked 18th nationally and the Bears were 28th as a team at the NCAA Division III Championships.

Coast Guard placed second at both the NEWA Dual Championships and the NCAA Division III Northeast Regional and qualified a record five wrestlers for the NCAA Division III Championships while Foley made an immediate impact in his first year as an assistant with the Bears.

The Bears were sixth in the NEWA with a 3.196 GPA with Beato, Jeremy Berson, Fitzpatrick, Gosch, Irwin, George McBurney, Nick Moreno, Remke, Rogers and Wagner all earning spots on the NEWA All-Academic team. To earn a spot on the All-Academic team, a wrestler must be a major contributor and have over a 3.2 GPA.