Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

NEW LONDON, Conn. -- The Coast Guard Academy will add five new members to its Athletic Hall of Fame on Sept. 29th at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet. This year it will also be the inaugural event at the brand new Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence in Billard Hall as part of Homecoming Weekend.

The ribbon cutting for the Otto Graham Hall of Excellence will take place at 6:30 followed by the dinner at 7 p.m.

Mark Harris ('96), Janine (Lavallee) Bowman ('95), Ty Rinoski ('89), Kathy Hamblett ('80) and former head football coach Tom Bell makeup the class of 2016.

Harris, a member of the New England Basketball Hall of Fame, is the only Coast Guard player with over 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds. He is the Bears all-time leading rebounder (1,134) and is fourth all-time at the Academy with 1,402 points. Harris holds the single-season school record with 22 rebounds. He led the team to four consecutive winnings seasons and back-to-back Constitution Athletic Conference (CAC) championships and ECAC tournament berths in the 1993-'94 and 1994-'95 seasons. During his four years the Bears posted a record of 70-32 for an impressive .686 winning percentage. The men's basketball Class of '96 is the last class to have a winning record in each of its four seasons.

Bowman was a member of the 1998 US shooting team and the 2000 US Olympic team. She was a four-time pistol national champion at the Academy. She was also the first woman to medal in a co-ed collegiate event.

Rinoski was the quarterback of the 1988 football team which is the only team in program history to win a postseason game as the Bears beat Plymouth State 28-19 to win the ECAC North Championship, the only postseason win in football program history.

 The team won win its final eight games of the season to finish 9-1, the most wins in a single-season. The 1997 team also won nine games. He was a first team ECAC All-Star in 1987 and a second team selection during  that 1988 season. He led the team to a record of 15-3 record during his final two seasons.

Bell, the head coach of the 1988 team and had a career record of 35-28 in his seven seasons as head football coach at the Academy (1986-1992) will also be inducted. He has the second best winning percentage (.556) of any football coach at Coast Guard. Bell had four winning seasons at the Academy.

Hamblett, a pioneer for women's athletics at the Academy, assisted in starting the women's rowing program. She was a two-year captain of the women's team and was the coxswain of the 1977 men's lightweight unbeaten four.

"Once again, we are fortunate have a truly outstanding Hall of Fame class in 2016!," said Tim Fitzpatrick, Coast Guard Academy Director of Athletics. "Each new inductee brings an amazing list of accomplishments with them, and it will be a unique pleasure to honor them on the same night that we will officially dedicate the Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence."