Academy Holds Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

Academy Holds Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

NEW LONDON, Conn. -- The Coast Guard Academy Athletic Department held its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony tonight in the Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence.

All seniors were presented with a watch in appreciation for their hard work and dedication over the past four years.

Derek Victory and Nikole Barnes headlined the event by winning the Most Outstanding Senior Male and Female Athlete, respectively. The award annually goes to one male and one female cadet-athlete for excellence over their four years.

Victory, who was the New England Football Conference (NEFC) Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2013, was a football team captain this season.

He earned the starting quarterback job early on as a freshman, broke the Coast Guard single-season passing yards record finishing with 2,636 yards and set single-game marks with 525 yards and six touchdowns.

Victory leaves with 15 school or conference records including 7,513 passing yards and 50 touchdowns in his magnificent career.

Barnes led the women's sailing team to the national championship last season and the team will look to repeat again this year. She was named the National Women's Sailor of the Year last season and a Women's All-American skipper for the second straight season while also earning Co-ed All-American Skipper honors for the first time. Nikole has had one of the most impressive careers in the history of collegiate sailing.

Alex Lane, a member of both men's soccer team, was the recipient of the Tommy Award given each year to the most inspirational senior male athlete while he also was presented with the Roger K. Guyas Comeback Award which is given for the best comeback from a serious injury.

The Captain Lee H. Baker Award, given to the most inspirational senior female athlete, was awarded to Katie Clark, a member of the women's soccer team.

The Captain Paul F. Foye Memorial Unsung Hero Award went to J.D. Dunaway of the football team.

The Connecticut American Legion presented to the most improved male and female athlete over four years were given to Dan Fiorvanti for his improvement in wrestling while Bonny Turnage from the cross country and track and field team took home the female honors.

In addition to the upper classmen, two freshmen were also honored with awards on the night. Men's lacrosse player Riley McNulty and softball player Courtney McKenna were awarded the CGA Fourth Class Rookie of the Year Awards which are given, each year, to the Most Outstanding Male and Female Freshmen Athletes. McNulty was named the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Rookie of the Year and a member of the All-conference first team while McKenna earned second team All-conference honors.

The Captain Carl Selin Awards, given to the highest scoring male and female on the PFE, went to four cadets who earned perfect scores of 600. Senior Gill Hill was the male recipient while a trio of females shared the honor with perfect scores, junior Rachel Burchill, sophomore Anita Green and freshman Frances Gillem.

This year's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Award went, to seniors Brian Deely and Ryan Carpenter for their outstanding support of numerous Coast Guard Athletic teams.

The Paul Duddy Awards were presented to one senior male and one senior female that best represent Coast Guard Athletics both on and off the field. This year, those honors went to Victory and Barnes.

The Academy has several volunteer coaches who contribute throughout the season and this year LT Pat Powers and LT Mike Higbie, who are assistant men's lacrosse coaches, were named the Varsity Volunteer Coaches of the Year while LT James Toomey was named the Club Sports Volunteer Coach of the Year later in the evening at the Volunteer Coaches Reception.

The Class of 2017 will hold their commencement ceremony tomorrow morning at 11:00 am at Cadet Memorial Field where President Donald Trump will give the commencement address.