No. 5 Bears Fifth at Hap Moore Trophy / Rohde Eighth at National Championship

No. 5 Bears Fifth at Hap Moore Trophy / Rohde Eighth at National Championship

NEW LONDON, Conn.--The fifth ranked sailing team finished fifth at the Hap Moore Trophy Team Race with a record of ten wins and six losses. At the Singlehanded National Championship, Dana Rohde finished eighth.

After a successful start to their fleet race season, the Bears switched into team race mode this past weekend in their home event, the Hap Moore Trophy Team Race. Unlike fleet racing where each team enters one boat in each race and receives cumulative points for an entire event, team racing is head to head action where three boats from one team sail against three boats from another team in a round robin format. Teams carry a win/loss record for the event. 

In the opening round robin, the Bears went 8-3, which put them in fourth overall and qualified them for the top-6 round robin. In the round of six the won races against St. Mary's and Brown and suffered losses to Georgetown, Boston College, and Tufts. With a 10-6 record Coast Guard tied for third with two other teams but lost both tie breaks and slipped to fifth. 

Avery Fanning, Andrew Britton, Robert Turley, Kayla Ellis, Nikole Barnes, Hannah Herring, Anna Morin, and August Sturm all made appearances in races for the Bears.

Brown University won a sail off for first place with St. Mary's. Both teams finished the event with a 12-4 record. Boston College finished third with a record of 10-6.

At the 2015 Women's Singlehanded National Championship, conditions proved to be a difficult test of sailors' ability to excel across a range of conditions. Coast Guard's Dana Rohde started strong, winning the opening race of the series by several lengths and finishing among the top group in the next two races that were sailed in lighter wind. On day two she struggled to find consistency in strong breeze which cost her several positions on the leaderboard. 

Rohde finished 8th with 82 points. Georgetown's Haddon Hughes won the championship with 30 points with Lindsay Baab from Brown finishing second with 32 and Isabella Loosbrock from Boston College third with 45.