Bears 7th at Women's Dellenbaugh, 3rd at BU Trophy

Bears 7th at Women's Dellenbaugh, 3rd at BU Trophy

EDGEWOOD, R.I. -- The fourth ranked women's sailing team finished seventh at the always competitive Brad Dellenbaugh Trophy hosted by Brown University. Due to its timing on the spring schedule, excellent sailing conditions, and a long-standing history in college sailing, The Dellenbaugh Trophy perennially attracts all of the best teams from across the country. The 2018 edition was no different. Teams from as far as Hawaii, Charleston, and San Francisco made the trip to Edgewood, RI to test their skills on the Providence River.

Racing began on Saturday in a light northerly that slowly died and only allowed for one A-Division to be completed. The race committee then waited for the sea breeze to fill. When it did, the conditions were supreme - south/southwest at 12-18 knots. Nine more A-Division races and eight B-Division races were complete on Saturday.

Although there were no delays on Sunday, the breeze proved to be much more fickle and unpredictable. An offshore westerly wind that range from 2-14 knots kept competitors on their toes and consistency at a premium. The race committee was able to get through race seventeen in each division before time expired. 

Dana Rohde and Anna Morin won A-Division with 77 points. The won five races and only finished outside of the top-10 once in the seventeen-race series. This marks Rohde's third consecutive A-Division win, having also taken first place at the Navy Spring Women's Interconference and St. Mary's Women's Interconference. In B-Division, Darden Purrington, Anna Maria Vaccaro, and Sarah Smith finished 13th with 194 points. The team finished with a combined 271 points, which put them in seventh overall.

Brown University won their home event for the second year in a row. Stanford University was second and Yale University was third.

At the BU Trophy hosted by Boston University, an all-freshmen team of Bears finished third overall. The race committee was able to complete eleven races per division throughout the course of two days on the ever tricky Charles River.

Richard Gordon and Madeline Kaller won A-Division with 46 points. They won three A-Division races and finished within the top-5 in more than half. In B-Division, Jesse McKnight and Halee Lewis finished third with 49 points and finished outside of the top-4 only three times during the eleven-race series. The team combined for 95 points and third overall - just three points shy of first. Yale University won the BU Trophy with 92 points and Boston University was second with 93 points. 

Photo courtesy of Rob Migliaccio.