Bears Roll to Season-Opening Doug Parker Championship

Patrick Irwin
Patrick Irwin

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Coast Guard, ranked 12th nationally, opened the season by easily winning the Doug Parker Invitational at Springfield as four Bears won championships.

Coast Guard finished with 141.5 points while New England College was a distant second with 102 points.

The Bears had 11 place winners in the season opener.

Nick Moreno won the 165 pound championship as the sixth seed as he breezed through the tournament with four pins and a major decision, he won the championship match with a pin in 1:38 over Ahmad Sharif from AIC.

Top-seeded Paul Detwiler won the 184 pound championship with a 13-8 decision over Edwin Moroales from Bridgewater State in the final.

Jeremy Berson won the 197 pound championship beating Henry Oberlander from Bridgewater State 5-4.

Top-seeded Patrick Irwin pinned Ryan Higgins from Bridgewater State in 6:39 in the heavyweight championship match. He won all five matches in the tournament via pin.

The Bears had a four wrestlers place fourth A.J. Pagliarulo (149), Phil Rogers (165) and Jessup Pawelczyk (197), all three medically forfeited the third place matches while JD FitzPatrick lost 12-5 in the third place match.

Kayne Robert placed fifth at 197 pounds with a 2-0 decision over Noah Griffin from Plymouth State. 

A pair of freshmen had solid collegiate debuts as Noah Caskey and Caden Mareno met in the fifth place match with Mareno winning a 17-6 major decision. Mareno was 6-1 on the day with a pin while Caskey picked up four wins including a pair of pins and two major decisions in the tournament.

The Bears are back in action on Dec. 7th at the Ted Reese Invitational.


165-Nick Moreno (1st place)

W-WBF, 2:39
W-WBF, 3:32
W-WBF, 4:12
W-major dec 15-2 (semifinals)
Championship match –W- WBF, 1:38

184-Paul Detwiler  (1st place)
W-WBF, 1:54
W-TF 18-3 (5:14)
W-dec. 10-5 (semifinals)
Championship match – W, dec. 13-8

197—Jeremy Berson (1st place)
W-TF 17-2 (5:32)
W-WBF, 2:47
W-Maj. Dec. 19-6
W-TF 16-1 (4:13)
Championship match – W- dec. 5-4

HWT – Patrick Irwin (1st place)
W-WBF, 1:47
W-WBF, 1:16
W-WBF, 2:25
W-WBF, 0:37
Championship match—W, 6:39,

141—JD FitzPatrick (4th place)
W-major dec. 12-4
W-dec 9-6
L-major dec. 18-26 (semifinals)
3rd place match – L-dec. 5-12

149—A.J. Pagliarulo (4th place)
W-dec. 11-4
W-dec. 9-2
W-major dec. 11-0
W-dec. 8-6
L-WBF, 1:08
3rd place match – L, medical forfeit

165—Phil Rogers (4th place)

W-TF 16-0 (4:03)
W-dec. 4-3
W-dec 9-7
L-medical forfeit (semifinals)
3rd place match – L, medical forfeit

197—Jessup Pawelczyk (4th place)
W-WBF, 1:34
W-WBF, 1:47
L-TF 1-16 (4:13)
3rd place match – L, medical forfeit

141-Caden Mareno (5th place)
W-TF 18-0 (4:35)
L-major dec. 12-20
W-TF 16-1 (2:09)
W-dec. 10-4
W-dec. 6-4
5th place match - W-major dec. 17-6

197—Kayne Robert (5th place)
L-dec 3-7
W-dec 4-3
W-by forfeit
W-major dec. 15-5
5th place match - W-dec, 2-0

141-Noah Caskey (6th place)
L-dec. 6-11
W-WBF, 1:20
W-WBF, 1:47
W-major dec. 15-6
W-major dec. 12-4
5th place match - L-major dec. 6-17