Women's Cross Country Places 5 on NEWMAC All-Academic Team

Senior Carolyn Smith
Senior Carolyn Smith

BOSTON, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2015 Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference Team on Tuesday. 

The women had five athletes named to the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference team. Seniors Tara Larkin (Mechanical Engineering) and Carolyn Smith (Marine and Environmental Sciences) both earned their third selection to the Academic All-Conference team while Bonny Turnage (Civil Engineering) earned her second selection. Senior Melissa Keeley (Mechanical Engineering and junior Jenn Haley (Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering) both earned their first selection.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2015 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The women return to action this Sunday, November 1st when they travel to Boston, Massachusetts to compete at the NEWMAC Championship at Franklin Park.